About Us

Board of Directors

Although Avita Community Partners is not a state organization, it is a public organization formed by the 1993 Georgia State Legislature to serve persons experiencing the disabling effects of mental illness, developmental disabilities and addictive diseases. The Board of Directors consists of one Commission appointed resident from each of the 13 counties represented in the Northeast Georgia area who are involved in and committed to services, as well as being responsible for guiding policy, contractual expectations and representing both client and community input. Legislation requires that at least 50% of board members be either clients themselves or have a family member who is a client. This direct connection ensures that there is representation of the various disability groups. Legislation also requires we have 4 elected or appointed officials as members of the governing board. The 4 appointments are made by the counties making the largest cash or in-kind contribution to Avita Community Partners. One additional Board position may be appointed by the Board of Directors to address variations in county population size and financial contributions to the community service board.

The Board of Directors meetings are held on the fourth Tuesday of each month at 7:00pm in the Board Room of the Administrative Offices in Flowery Branch. Board Meetings are open to the public.

The Avita Community Partners board members are:

Avery Nix
Representing Avita at Large

Commissioner Sammy Reece
Banks County, Elected Official

Carol Williams
Representing Banks County

Angelia Brown
Representing Dawson County

Terry Hawkins
Representing Forsyth County

Penny A. Penn
Forsyth County, Elected Official Board Vice-Chair

Angela Whidby
Representing Franklin County,      Board Chair

Commissioner Bruce Palmer
Habersham County, Elected Offical

Anne Davis
Representing Habersham County

Seth Barnes, Jr.
Representing Hall County

Commissioner Shelly Echols
Hall County, Elected Offical

Alice Wortham
Representing Hart County

Barbara Bosanko
Representing Lumpkin County

Commissioner Kent A. Woerner
Representing Rabun County

Sherry Estep
Representing Stephens County

Deena Handy
Representing Towns County

Representing Union County

Representing White County